Become a member

Why become a member ?

Main Film is an artist organization whose mandate is to support independent filmmakers in defining their artistic voices and cinematographic visions through practice and artistic enrichment, regardless of the medium, the practice, the experience and the diffusion context.

Through its various activities, Main Film hopes to support filmmakers in establishing themselves as artists and to foster the emergence of new cinematic voices.

As such, working alongside other artist-run centres, we proceed on two levels. We offer filmmakers the following advantages:
– To free themselves as much as possible from material and financial constraints, which limit creativity, creation and practice;
– To expand their artistic horizon alongside established artists, while paving the way towards an easier anchoring in the community.

By becoming a member of Main Film, you will benefit from all that Main Film can offer you and you will then facilitate your integration in the artistic community!

Two easy ways to join this amazing artist organization:

– On site: Just show up at Main Film with a valid ID. The opening hours are Monday to Thursday from 10am to 5pm. We are located at 2025 Parthenais, Suite 301. Due to COVID-19, this option is currently unavailable as our offices are closed to the public.

– Online: You can pay your subscription through an Interac transfer of 70$ at

* All members will need to show an ID and sign the rental policy prior to their first rental if not made at registration!



  • Discount on all equipment (an average of 50%) and training workshops (an average of 33%);
  • Access to free events organized as part of the training sessions;
  • Recognition of your membership status in a number of artist-run centres across Canada, as part of the Independent Media Arts Access Network (IMAAN) (57 organizations across Canada);
  • Access to a viewing room to present your films;
  • Access to preferential rates from our partners (MELS / VIDEO / LOU-CAM / NIAGARA CUSTOM LAB / ZEPHYR / STUDIO 4 FUN / MULTIVISION);
  • The right to attend General Assembly meetings (as a non-voting member).


Associate membership is valid for one year, with a fee of $70.


Due to health measures related to COVID-19, please note that volunteering and therefore obtaining the Active Member status is temporarily suspended. However, you can still benefit from the Associate Member status. Thank you for your understanding!

The Associate Member can earn active membership status by completing 21 hours of volunteer work at Main Film and paying an additional $ 100 membership fee;

Active membership is intended for filmmakers directing their own work (criteria 1) who maintain full editorial and creative control of their projects (criteria 2). Active Members benefit from an additional 40% discount off the Associate Member rate for the rental of MF equipment. There is no need to submit an application to qualify.

In addition to the benefits of associate membership and the additional discount on equipment rentals, Active Members:

  • Are not required to pay a deposit for the rental of mobile equipment (if the value does not exceed $ 50,000);
  • May benefit from having their work showcased on our website (Highlighted members / Active Member directory);
  • Different events are offered exclusively;
  • Have the right to vote at general assemblies; and
  • Are eligible to run and be elected to serve on the Board of Directors.

Active membership is valid for 2 years (volunteer hours must be resumed annually).


Contact us at or at 514-845-7442

Actual and old members

Here’s a few amazing people who’ve been, or still is, member at Main Film.

Sylvain L’Espérance, director, Intérieurs du delta (2009), Combat au bout de la nuit (2016)

Alexa-Jeanne Dubé, actress, director, Oui mais non (2017), Féminin/Féminin (2014)

Olivier Godin, director, Les arts de la parole (2016), En attendant Avril (2018)

Jennifer Alleyn, director, producer, Impetus (2018)

Hany Ouichou, producer, Prank (2016), Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié… (2016)

Isabelle Stachtchenko, director of photography, Moi sans toi (2019), Claire l’hiver (2017)

Khoa Lê, director, Bà nôi (2013), Tam (en développement)

Sophie Bédard-Marcotte, director, Claire l’hiver (2o17), L.A. Tea Time (2019)

Rodrigue Jean, director, L’amour au temps de la guerre civile (2014), Full Blast (1999)

Félix Dufour-Laperrière, director, Transatlantique (2014), Ville Neuve (2018)

Zoé Pelchat-Ouellet, director, Dominos (2018)

André Habib, professor, writer, L’attrait de la ruine (2011), La main gauche de Jean-Pierre Léaud (2015)

Vincent Toi, director, I’ve seen the Unicorn (2014), The Crying Conch (2017)

Nellie Carrier, director, producer, Sashinka (2017)

Ara Ball, director, Quand l’amour se creuse un trou (2018), Le pédophile (2015)

Stéphanie Weber-Biron, director of photography, J’ai tué ma mère (2009), The Forbidden Room (2015)

Vincent Biron, director, director of photography, Prank (2016), Les barbares de la Malbaie (2019)

Patrick Bernatchez, visual artist, Les temps inachevés, Société/Time

Jacquelyn Mills, director, producer, In the Waves (2017), Leaves (2013)